21 LGUs open leisure travel for residents

Twenty-one local government units (LGUs) in Negros Occidental have opened up their localities to leisure travel for their residents starting Monday, October 19.

These are the cities of Bago, Cadiz, Escalante, Himamaylan, Sagay, San Carlos, and Talisay, and the municipalities of Binalbagan, Calatrava, Candoni, Cauayan, Hinigaran, Isabela, La Castellana, Manapla, Moises Padilla, Murcia, Pontevedra, Pulupandan, Salvador Benedicto, and Valladolid.

On the other hand, 10 localities have remained closed for tourists and leisure travel. These are the cities of Kabankalan, La Carlota, Silay, Sipalay, and Victorias, and the municipalities of EB Magalona, Hinobaan, Ilog, San Enrique, and Toboso.

Provincial Tourism Officer Jennylind Cordero said that resorts and other accommodation facilities that have opened for residents are subject to health protocols and advanced booking.

She said that 79 accommodation establishments were issued Certificates of Authority to Operate by the Department of Tourism, meaning they have followed the proper standards and health protocols.

“It is important that they will abide with the health protocols,” she added.

She said that 2,222 workers in the tourism industry outside Bacolod City were displaced.

This includes workers in the accommodation establishments, tour guides, boat guides, trike guides, tourist transport services including island hopping boats, sports and recreation, wellness, food and beverage.

When LGUs have lesser Covid-19 cases and if they are ready, it is up to them if they will ease the restrictions on leisure travel, Cordero said.*

Secured By miniOrangeSecured By miniOrange