Davao del Sur TransQueen crowned new MassKaReyna

The new MassKaReyna Jeysyn Ramos.*Anjie Cataluña photo

Jeysyn Ramos, the TransQueen representing Davao del Sur, was crowned the new MassKaReyna at the Bacolod City Government Center festival stage, Thursday night, October 19.

Ramos bested 19 other contestants from around the country after two rounds of eliminations in the almost 3-hour show.

She received a cash prize of P55,000, including the P5,000 from Mayor Alfredo Abelardo Benitez.

The 1st Runner-up was Kirk Virtudazo Popiolek of Cagayan de Oro City who received P45,000, 2nd Runner-up was Yeng Lavitoria of Tarlac City who won P35,000, 3rd Runner-up was Iarth Ranis of Misamis Oriental with P20,000, and 4th Runner-up was Jam Sy Mallari of Isabela Province with P15,000.

The other candidates who entered the top 10 were from Lapu-Lapu City – Stephie Venice Cabahug, Victorias City – Claui Doromal Rolo-os, Bacolod City – Angelika Tupas, Iloilo City – Maricar Gonzales, and Davao City – Rejean Buhian.

During the final question and answer segment, the candidates were asked what event in their life made them #Smilebrate.

Ramos’ answer centered on how a smile can inspire others.

“I believe that Smilebrate is a combination of two words smile and celebrate. I can compare that to the most important moment of my life it would be the day that I was born. The smile that I was able to give to my parents is actually the one that brightens up their day,” she said.

She added: “MassKara Festival is a symbolic festival where we conceal all our heartaches and hardships by putting up a smile. But I would like to emphasize that smiling is not a definite way to show that you are happy.”

“But despite that, keep smiling because you will never know that someone is being inspired by your own smile. Ladies and gentlemen as an LGBT member I can make you smile in my own very way and I am encouraging you to do the same”, Ramos added.

Popiolek also grabbed most of the four special and minor awards including Miss Photogenic, Best in Production Number, Best in Swimwear, and Best in Gown.

Meanwhile, Tupas was Miss Congeniality, Cabahug – Best in Question and Answer, and Lavitoria – Best in Festival Costume.

The other contestants were Olivia Christine Hernandez of Iloilo Province, Mahdison Dela Vega of Cebu Province, Maria Roberthany Thompson of Negros Oriental, Angel Marie Madrigal of Cebu City, Scarlet Galacio Gonzaga of Naga City, Sunshine Luchavez of Mandaue City, Kara Olivia Ojales of Kidapawan City, Nina Frakumbushi of General Santos City, Julia Olita of Negros Occidental, and Paula Luizen Abellar of Siquijor.*

Secured By miniOrangeSecured By miniOrange