Ferrer: Neg. Occ. SP sets pro-poor agenda

Vice Governor Jeffrey Ferrer (right) pledged that the Negros Occidental Sangguniang Panlalawigan will support the programs of Gov. Eugenio Jose Lacson in his speech at the SP’s 36th inaugural session on Tuesday, July 5.*Richard Malihan photo

Vice Governor Jeffrey Ferrer pledged that the Negros Occidental Sangguniang Panlalawigan will set a pro-poor legislative agenda.

“We will legislate measures that are  responsive to their needs”,  Ferrer assured  in his speech  at the 36th inaugural session of the Negros Occidental SP at the Social Hall of the Capitol in Bacolod City on Tuesday, July 5.

He also said they will support the proposals and programs of Gov. Eugenio Jose Lacson for the growth and development of the province.

“Let us sustain a collaborative and purposeful direction between the executive and legislative branches of the provincial government and ensure that we take part in every crucial decisions that will uphold and promote the welfare of our people,” Ferrer said.

Lacson, who also delivered a speech at the inaugural session, presented his plans for Negros Occidental for the next three years, which he also outlined in his inaugural speech.

On the top of his list is the strengthening of health services for Negrenses.

Lacson also outlined his social services, disaster management, education, sports, peace and order, food security, energy, environment, infrastructure, and tourism plans.

He said in the next three years his administration will double its efforts to increase local revenues to finance priority development initiatives and projects.

“It is our solemn responsibility to see to it that Negros Occidental will emerge stronger and more progressive than before” after the COVID-19 pandemic, Lacson said.

Meanwhile, the following is the list of the SP committee chairpersons:

*Budget, Finance, Ways and Means – Rommel Debulgado  *Barangay Affairs – Juvy Pepello

*Cooperatives – Jeffrey Tubola

*Food and Agriculture –  Andrew Montelibano

*Environmental Protection –  Andrew Montelibano

*Disaster Preparedness  – Samson Mirhan

*Peace and Order  – Jose Benito Alonso

*Education  – Rita Gatuslao

*History, Arts and Culture – Valentino Miguel Alonso

*Information and  Communications Technology –  Ryan Gamboa

*Public Utilities and Transportation – Manuel Frederick Ko

*Games and  Amusement – Andrew Montelibano

*Good Government – Juvy Pepello

*Health and  Social Services – Araceli Somosa

*Human Resource – Manuel Frederick Ko

*Human Rights –  Anthony Dennis Occeño

*Internal Ethics –  Sixto Guanzon Jr.

*Labor and  Employment  – Jeffrey Tubola

*Laws, Rules  and Ordinances  – Sixto Guanzon Jr.

*Oversight – Sixto Guanzon Jr.

*Public Works, Housing and Land Use  – Manuel Frederick Ko

*Senior  Citizens  – Juvy Pepello

*Trade, Industry and Commerce – Valentino Miguel Alonso

*Women, Children and  Family Welfare – Rita Gatuslao

*Youth and Sports Development – Pocholo Yuvienco

*Investments and Promotions  – Valentino Miguel Alonso

*Government Enterprise and  Privatization – Andrew Martin Torres

*Tourism –  Araceli Somosa

*Government Assets – Pocholo Yuvienco

*Internal Relations –  Rommel Debulgado

Secured By miniOrangeSecured By miniOrange