Murcia mayor, VM file reelection bids

Rep. Francisco Benitez (seated, center) and Board Members Manuel Frederick Ko and Andrew Montelibano (seated 1st and 2nd from left) extend their full support to the reelection bids of Murcia Mayor Gerry Rojas and Vice-Mayor Johnny Reosura (seated 4th and 5th from left) and their SB Member candidates (standing L-R) SBM HernanAlintana, SBM Alfredo Villarosa, former SBM Nick Constantino, Sonia Macapagal, SBM Jose Gomez, SBM Kedy Yu, SBM Adrian Olimpo and SMB Anton Gonzaga

Murcia Mayor Gerry Rojas and Vice Mayor Johnny Reosura, together with their complete slate of eight reelectionist and aspiring Sangguniang Bayan Members, filed their Certificates of Candidacy for their respective reelection bids Friday, October 1.

Rep. Francisco “Kiko” Benitez (Negros Occidental, 3rd District) and Board Members Manuel Frederick Ko and Andrew Montelibano, who are all seeking reelection in their respective positions, attended the activity to show their support to the mayor and his group, a press release from Murcia said.

“For almost two and a half years under my administration, you have seen and felt the development and progress in our town. I ask for your support for me and our group in next year’s elections, so that we can continue working together for the advancement of Murcia and the benefit of all Murciahanons,” Rojas said.

“We congratulate Mayor Rojas and his group for having completed the filing of their CoCs. Our presence here signifies our full support to these candidates, because they are united and committed in working for the further improvement and progress of Murcia,” Benitez said.

Meanwhile, Reosura asked the Murciahanons to give their group another opportunity to serve them.

“We will continue working on projects with long-lasting impact which can benefit you, your children, your grandchildren and the generations to come. Together, we can make Murcia one of the most beautiful and progressive towns,” the vice mayor said.

Rojas and his entire slate are carrying the Asenso Murciahanon banner, under the umbrella of Love Negros, the provincial party headed by Gov. Eugenio Jose Lacson.

Incumbent SB Members Carlito B. Yu Jr., Jose C. Gomez, Adrian L. Olimpo Sr., Alfredo L. Villarosa and Antonio Luis A. Gonzaga are seeking reelection, while Sonia Macapagal, Hernan Alintana and Nicanor Constantino are aspiring for a seat in the town’s legislative body.

Macapagal is a long-time staff of the Office of the Representative – 3rd District-Negros Occidental, while Lopez Jaena Punong Barangay Alintana is Murcia’s ABC president and is an ex-officio SB Member. Constantino is a former SB Member who is eyeing a return to his previous post.

Outgoing SB Members Belen Magbanua and Norberto delos Reyes accompanied the group to signify their support.

Murcia Acting Comelec Officer Sandra Granada received the Certificates of Candidacy at the second floor of the town’s public market, where the Comelec is temporarily holding office with an entire set of temporary staff. The Murcia Comelec office was closed for disinfection due to Covid-19.*

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Secured By miniOrangeSecured By miniOrange