CHMSU, 13 brgys in Talisay sign Bottle-Net Life Jacket Project MOA

The signing of the Memorandum of Agreement at CHMSU*

The Carlos Hilado Memorial State University (CHMSU) signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with 13 barangays of Talisay City and established a partnership for the Bottle-Net Life Jacket Project at the CHMSU Talisay main campus on Tuesday, January 24.

The “Bottle-Net Life Jacket: A Personal Floatation Device for Every Family” was launched to create an alternative to the commercial life jackets that can be too expensive for Filipinos, especially those living along coastlines, a press release from CHMSU said Wednesday, January 25.

The project aims to promote disaster risk reduction and resiliency in the community, it said.

CHMSU and the partner barangays signified to ensure sustainable community involvement and linkages for the project and other programs in different areas such as training and livelihood, environment, and gender and development.

Andrew Eusebio S. Tan, CHMSU Vice President for Research and Extension, represented the university during the ceremony, while barangay captains and their deputies were also present.

The project is led by Project Leader Engineer Rey A. Ramos from the College of Engineering, together with Arlene E. Visitacion, Project Community Engagement Officer, Ana Mary Ann H. Pancho, Director for Alumni Affairs, Cherryl J. Salaya, and Engr. Dominic F. Mercurio, Ma. Lourdes R. Hagos, Lylanie H. Rivera, and Perseus T. Bravo from the College of Industrial Technology.

Present at the MOA signing were Kagawad Ricardo Arellano and John Michael Pajes for Zone 2, Kagawad Nancy Garcia – Zone 3, Kagawad Beth Abrera and Kagawad Ligaya Besa – Zone 5, Barangay Captain Sulpicio M. Verdeflor Jr. – Zone 7, Kagawad Malou Hechanova – Zone 8, Barangay Captain Jojo D. Parreño – Zone 11, Barangay Captain Wilfredo G. Hinolan – Zone 12, Barangay Captain Rogelio C. Amar – Zone 14, Barangay Captain Daryl G. Abaring – Zone 14B, and Barangay Secretary Marjorie Notchite – Zone 16.

Roger Ray S. Manzano – Director for Extension and Community Services, Armando R. Reosura – Director for IPMO, Leah L. Fernandez – Director for Research and Development Services, Rhoderick K. Samonte – Director for External Affairs, Leizl May C. Tortogo – College of Education dean, Engr. Grace Gerona – College of Engineering dean, Juliet D. Pasustento – Chief Administrative Officer – Finance Division, Melanie Porquez, Engr. Roy Gerona, and Engr. Michael Forton of CHMSU joined the project proponents as witnesses during the signing.*

Secured By miniOrangeSecured By miniOrange